## **Faculty Meeting Minutes**

## 30 March 2021

**Present via Zoom:** Adib Bagh, Ben Braun, Jim Brennan, Russell Brown, Francis Chung, Alberto Corso, Bradley Elliott, Heide Gluesing-Luerssen, Kyle Golenbiewski, Bert Guillou, Ding Lu, Chris Manon, David Murrugarra, Uwe Nagel, Duc Nguyen, Nicholas Nguyen, Jing Qin, David Royster, Jack Schmidt, Amber Scruggs, Khrystyna Serhiyenko, Nat Stapleton, Chloe Wawrzyniak, erica Whitaker, Martha Yip,

## (1) Announcements:

- Hayden-Howard Lecture by Tatiana Toro on 8 April 2021 at 4pm.
- Awards Ceremony on 7 May 2021 at 4pm.
- Chair's update: The Provost plans a 6-week Summer Residential Program, which is targeted at incoming students and rising sophomores. Three of our colleagues have agreed to offer a course:
  - Katie Paullin, MA 109
  - Chloe Wawrzyniak, MA 110
  - Kyle Golenbiewski, MA 111.
- (2) Minutes from 23 March 2021 were approved.
- (3) Solicitation of speakers for the Hayden-Howard and the Van Winter lecture in 2021/22. Please submit proposals by 12 April 2021.
- (4) Reappointment Reviews were discussed.
- (5) Revision of Graduate Handbook.

The Graduate Committee consisting of Ben Braun (chair), Chris Manon and Martha Yip produced a draft for a revised graduate handbook that was shared and discussed at the Virtual Tea on 16 March 2021. Subsequently, the format of the progress expectation tables in sections 5.9.1 and 5.9.2 was adjusted (no changes to the actual requirements), and one sentence added in section 5.2.4, stating that DRC letters will apply to prelims.

Moved to vote, seconded, faculty vote to pass.