Faculty Meeting Minutes

27 April 2021

Present via Zoom: Ben Braun, Jim Brennan, Russell Brown, Alberto Corso, Nathan Druivenga, Bradley Elliott, Courtney George, Heide Gluesing-Luerssen, Kyle Golenbiewski, Bert Guillou, Ding Lu, David Murrugarra, Uwe Nagel, Duc Nguyen, Nicholas Nguyen, Katherine Paullin, Kate Ponto, Jing Qin, Jack Schmidt, Amber Scruggs, Khrystyna Serhiyenko, Fernando Shao, Nat Stapleton, Mihai Tohaneanu, Chloe Wawrzyniak, erica Whitaker, Martha Yip, Yuan Zhou

(1) Announcements:

- Awards Ceremony on 7 May 2021 at 4pm.
- Chair's update: A letter supporting the April 14th statement of the Chair of the Senate Council, Professor Aaron Cramer, on shared governance as a defining value of the University of Kentucky was sent with 540 signatures to Faculty Trustees Lee Blonder and Hollie Swanson with a copy to Aaron Cramer on 26 April 2021.
- (2) Minutes from 20 April 2021 were approved.
- (3) Criteria for Promotion to Senior Lecturer.

A committee consisting of Jack Schmidt (chair), Nicholas Nguyen and David Royster prepared a draft for adjusting the criteria for promotion to Senior Lecturer. It was discussed by the executive committee and unanimously recommended for eventual approval to the whole faculty.

Moved to vote, seconded, faculty vote to pass.

(4) A Recruiting Request for 2021-22 was discussed, voted on, and approved.