## Faculty Meeting Minutes

## 9 April 2024

Present: Michael Baker, Francis Chung, Lewis Dominguez, Richard Ehrenborg, Heide Gluesing-Luerssen, Bert Guillou, David Murrugarra, Uwe Nagel, Nick Nguyen, Mario Ordonez, Katherine Paullin, Peter Perry, Jing Qin, Margaret Readdy, Praneel Santana, Jack Schmidt, Zhongwei Shen, Mihai Tohaneanu, erica Whitaker, Qiang Ye, Martha Yip,

## (1) Announcements:

- Awards Ceremony in Bingham-Davis house on 26 April 2024, starting at 4pm.
- Please mark your calendar for an additional faculty meeting on 30 April 2024 at 4pm.
- Chair's updates:
  - Please consider nominating a speaker for the 2024-25 Eaves Lecture.
  - A Grant Proposal Initiation form has to be submitted 30 days prior due the proposal due date.
  - Two volunteers are needed for conducting departmental RCR training this Fall.
- (2) Minutes from 19 September 2023 were approved.
- (3) Partial minutes from 27 February 2024 were approved.
- (4) Partial minutes from 5 March 2024 were approved.
- (5) FMER rubric.

Prompted by a mandate from the College that every department develops an FMER rubric, the Executive Committee developed and endorsed a draft of a departmental FMER rubric for discussion and, ideally, approval by the faculty.

Moved to vote, seconded, faculty vote to pass.

(6) Creating the option for having Special Title Series (STS) faculty. Over the course of this academic year the Executive Committee has discussed the virtues of possibly having STS faculty in the Department. In order to allow in principle for the creation of STS positions in the Department, the Executive Committee proposed adjustments of the promotion guidelines for tenure-stream faculty and of our Rules of Procedure. A discussion of these proposal was begun and will be continued at another faculty meeting.