Faculty Meeting Minutes

23 April 2024

- **Present:** Michael Baker, Ben Braun, Francis Chung, Richard Ehrenborg, Heide Gluesing-Luerssen, Bert Guillou, Peter Hislop, Dave Jensen, Ding Lu, Chris Manon, Ford McElroy, David Murrugarra, Uwe Nagel, Nick Nguyen, Peter Perry, Kate Ponto, Jing Qin, Margaret Readdy, Jack Schmidt, Zhongwei Shen, Mihai Tohaneanu, erica Whitaker, Qiang Ye, Martha Yip,
- (1) Announcements:
 - Awards Ceremony in Bingham-Davis house on 26 April 2024, starting at 4pm.
 - Additional faculty meeting on 30 April 2024 at 4pm.
 - Chair's update: A nomination for a speaker for the 2024-25 Eaves Lecture has been submitted and will be discussed at an upcoming faculty meeting.
- (2) Minutes from 9 April 2024 were approved.
- (3) Creating the option for having Special Title Series (STS) faculty. Continuation of the discussion from the April 9 faculty meeting. The topic will be considered again at the next faculty meeting.
- (4) Revision of Graduate Student Handbook.

The graduate committee (Braun, Manon, Qin) prepared a proposal for a revision of our graduate handbook. The Executive Committee endorsed the proposal for discussion and, ideally, approval by the graduate faculty. **Moved to vote, seconded, graduate faculty vote to pass.**