Faculty Meeting Minutes

30 April 2024

- **Present:** Michael Baker, Alberto Corso, Lewis Dominguez, Richard Ehrenborg, Bradley Elliott, Heide Gluesing-Luerssen, Bert Guillou, Peter Hislop, Dave Jensen, Ding Lu, David Murrugarra, Uwe Nagel, Nick Nguyen, Katherine Paullin, Peter Perry, Kate Ponto, Jing Qin, Margaret Readdy, Praneel Santana, Jack Schmidt, Zhongwei Shen, Mihai Tohaneanu, Chloe Wawrzyniak, erica Whitaker, Qiang Ye,
- (1) Announcements: Chair announces upcoming consultation with faculty by email.
- (2) Minutes from 23 April 2024 were approved.
- (3) Speaker for Hayden-Howard Lecture in 2024-25: Felix Otto (MPI Leipzig, Germany) selected by majority vote.
- (4) Speaker for Eaves Lecture in 2024-25: Christine Heitsch (Georgia Tech) selected by majority vote.
- (5) Creating the option for having Special Title Series (STS) faculty. Continuation of the discussion from the April 23 faculty meeting. A motion that the Chair appoints a committee to explore continuation of the activity in math education related areas was proposed. Moved to vote, seconded, faculty vote to pass.
- (6) A Hiring Request for 2024-25 was discussed.Moved to vote, seconded, graduate faculty vote to pass.